Creative Writing

Guidelines For Guest Bloggers

ProfilePic_4Hello, and welcome to my blog.

I am an author and a creativity coach. This is my space where I talk about my publications and work-in-progress, where I share creative writing tips, and where I interact with readers and writers to learn about their challenges and achievements. I hope you will hang out here a lot, for the benefit of your reading and writing as much as for your personal enjoyment and growth.

My social media network consists of:

  • writers of fiction and nonfiction
  • other creative writing teachers
  • other bloggers
  • expatriates from all over the world

My favorite topics are PERSONAL TRANSFORMATION and GLOBAL CHANGE, and my blog showcases regular posts on:

  • creative writing
  • the changing world of the book business
  • rite-of-passage stories by guest writers

Keeping in mind the increasing complexity of life in today’s global world, the classic maxim that “the only constant is change” is truer than it’s ever been. As a writer and personal coach, I believe the dynamics of change affect characters in storytelling as much as they do individuals in real life. It is this principle that underpins my coaching as well as my own writing. Click on the following for more details about my published memoir, upcoming creative writing guide, and w.i.p. novel.

If you’d like to share a real story about change or explore the potential for change in the life of a story character, or if you’d like to contribute creative writing tips or talk about your own writing and publishing journey, contact me to arrange a guest appearance on my blog (see guidelines below).

To blog or not to blog continues to be an interesting debate, and I’ve recently seen it veer toward the sentiment of ‘too many blogs = information overload.’ There is no doubt that the success of a blog depends on subscribers who participate regularly via informative comments because they find the content valuable. Hosting other writers helps to infuse your blog with diverse points of view on matters of mutual interest.

If you don’t have your own blog, participating on other blogs is a great way of  gaining and sustaining a social media presence to create, convey, and promote your profile / business / books. 

Choose a number of blogs that offer valuable information or content you relate to, subscribe to keep track of the blogger’s activities, become a loyal participant by regularly leaving comments and following the thread; then, when the right opportunity presents itself (all in good taste), you can share information about yourself, or you can invite the blogger and his/her followers to connect with you on other social media platforms and that way build your own network.

Guidelines for guest blogging

  • Please start by subscribing to My Rite of Passage and participating in the discussions.
  • Submit articles that are well thought through and edited – word count: 500-1000 max.
  • Attach jpg.file of author photo and brief bio with links to ways readers can follow you: Website/blog, Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, Google+, etc.
  • Attach any (legal) photos that are relevant to your story (max. 2). If you do not have any, I will try to find one (probably at Flickr Creative Commons).
  • Be available to respond to comments in the week following your posting (I usually post on Friday mornings; this gives people a chance to respond at their leisure over weekends).
  • Post deadline: at least a week before it goes live.
  • I will announce your post on Facebook and tag you, as well as on LinkedIn, Twitter, and Google+ and I usually share the link with various groups on these platforms. Feel free to do the same and more if you want.
  • Let me know if you want to do a book giveaway to a random commenter. I will do the drawing a week after the posting and notify the winner and you via email with instructions to email you with their preference of digital version and their home address if they choose the paperback version.
  • Please do not approach me for a book review – author interviews are by invitation only.
  • You can contact me at, or send your material to, belinda@myriteofpassage.com

On my professional Facebook page – My Rite of Passage – I post updates about my book, blog, and business that deal with issues concerning personal transformation and global change. You might want to check it out; you might even “Like” it—my offering to authors, bloggers, and coaches who ‘like’ the page is to plug their websites / blogs or ‘share’ a specific status update on their request. Please nudge me whenever you’d like me to share something.

14 thoughts on “Guidelines For Guest Bloggers

  1. Sounds interesting. Wish I had something to contribute! Perhaps I’ll be able to add my two cents to something yet to come.

    • Hello Pat,

      It’s great to have you on board. I’ve got many exciting series of blog posts I’m working on right now – one will be about animal medicine, working in conjunction with a shaman and using fabulous photos by a great South African wildlife photographer. Since a Bushmen medicine woman is one of the main characters in my w.i.p. novel, I’m hoping the series of blog posts will demonstrate how to leverage themes contained in fiction and nonfiction for pre-launch publicity purposes.

      Belinda.

  2. Pingback: A to Z Blog Challenge #16 | My Rite of Passage

  3. Hi Belinda,
    Have emailed you about a guest post & wanted to know if you want to go ahead with it for June 7th or wait until a later date. It’s okay either way for me. I know you were having technical difficulties so not sure your email address works, so trying to contact you here.

    • Hey Pat, thanks for that; I’ve received your email, and I’m slowly catching up after some time off. I’ve got you pencilled in for the 7th and will get back to you on your draft soon.

  4. Hi Belinda … I too enjoyed the expat experience (Hong Kong was the destination). I’ve written about surviving the expat experience and even created a book proposal before deciding to focus my attention on historical fiction. You might be interested in two of my blogs, A Writer of History is where I hang my hat these days while One Writer’s Voice was my previous incarnation which includes many posts on the business of writing. Nice to connect with you :)

    • Hi Mary, thanks for stopping by. I’ve just put your blog on my reader list, so I’ll check in from time to time. Let me know if you want to submit a post for the Premise / Themes series to help promote your writing.
      Glad to be connected :)

Comments are closed.