Creative Writing

The Gist of a Great Blog Series

Quote: "If an ass goes traveling, he will not come home a horse." by Thomas Fuller.

Quote: “If an ass goes traveling, he will not come home a horse.” by Thomas Fuller.

Back to business: I’d like to thank my last guest, Sonia Marsh, for her contribution to the Premise/Themes series. This has been a popular topic. I intend to augment it with another series later in the year and will probably call on the same writers for contributions with a different angle. My idea is to eventually publish an anthology related to ‘mindful creative writing that translates to effective book promotion.’ For now, though, I feel compelled to advance my work-in-progress, so I’ll be blogging on both my creative writing guide and novel for a while. You should find this both interesting and useful as the focus will be, mostly, on technique related to character transformation.

UntitledSometimes, moving forward with a new project requires taking a step back from an old one, which might be the case to some degree with the marketing of my memoir, though I have no intention of abandoning Out of Sync altogether … mother hen is just trusting that her little chick has enough momentum to ‘fly by itself’ for a while. Besides, I need time to develop a new promotional strategy as I’ve learned there’s no benefit to book sales from regurgitating the same old tactics—every now and again an author should develop fresh messaging, generate new audiences, explore other networks and augment online marketing efforts with on-the-ground activities. On Saturday, 08/10, I’m participating in my city’s Rock the Ville event, where I’ll be reading from my memoir—as you all know, book-signing opportunities are always welcome!

Given the slight change in blog content direction, I reckon it will be handy to supply you with an easily accessible list of links to all the “What is the Gist of Your Story?” contributions.

Remember: a sound premise and compelling themes are undoubtedly the hallmarks of great writing. Plus, effective book publicity relies on strong promotional messages, which are extracted from the themes contained in your writing that, collectively, make up the premise of the story.

Thanks again to all the wonderful writers for their generous contributions:

  1. An introduction, by myself.
  2.  A work-in-progress novel, by Brad Windhauser.
  3. The City of Mystery series, by Kim Wright.
  4. A work-in-progress memoir, by Kathleen Pooler.
  5. Sailing Down the Moonbeam, by Mary Gottschalk.
  6. The Glass Castle (my review), by Jeannette Walls.
  7. A soon-to-be-released memoir, by Paige Strickland.
  8. Again in a Heartbeat  / Morning at Wellington Square, by Susan Weidener.
  9. Adopted Reality, by Laura Dennis.
  10. Leaving the Hall Light On, by Madeline Sharples.
  11. All She Ever Wanted (w.i.p. novel), by Carol Bodensteiner.
  12. A w.i.p. book about breasts, by Trudi Taylor.
  13. Home Sweet Hardwood, by Pat McKinzie.
  14. A Heart Not Easily Broken, by M.J. Kane.
  15. A series of books about traditions in Africa, by Ian Mathie.
  16. Seven in a Jeep (my review), by Ed Gaydos.
  17. Freeways to Flip-Flops, by Sonia Marsh.
New Mexico: I just love the Adobe-style architecture of that region.

New Mexico: I just love the
Adobe-style architecture of that region.

Beautiful Telluride: unfortunately, we missed the Mushroom Festival.

Beautiful Telluride: unfortunately, we missed the Mushroom Festival.

Estes Park: We were unbelievably lucky to come across a herd of frolicking Elk.

Estes Park: We were unbelievably lucky to come across a herd of frolicking Elk.

The result of beer-tasting at New Belgium Brewery in Denver.

The result of beer-tasting at New Belgium Brewery in Denver.

8 thoughts on “The Gist of a Great Blog Series

    • Hi Maggie, I hope all’s well in your neck of the woods. I regret not spending time in Taos for I would’ve like to compare the two. Sante Fe is gorgeous, very exciting atmosphere, but – unfortunately – also very commercialized. All in all, it was a great trip, thank you.

    • Hey Pat, thank you – it’s wonderful traveling in this country; we’ve seen such a big part of the USA since our move here; I’ll be swinging by your blog soon to see what you’re up to. Hope your travels went well too?

  1. Gorgeous photos! Love the one of you two hula-hooping. I lived in Santa Fe for a year and once you get away from the commercialized part in the mountains, you can sense ancient spirits all around you. A place full of mystical energy where you can form a deep connection with the earth.

    • Hi Susan, I believe what you’re saying about the spirit of the place. It’s magical landscape. On a friend’s recommendation, we stayed at the Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs. We we’re both feeling run down, but even just one day made such a difference and there was no doubting the healing energy of the waters. Most of all, I love that the place embraces a hodgepodge of viewpoints.

I welcome comments, and I always respond.

